I Need some Ideas

Where dead topics hang out.

I Need some Ideas

Postby ShaneM » December 13th, 2013, 11:58 am

I am a good ASM programmer, but I have trouble coming up with ideas, sometimes. What I would like to know is if there are any fans on here who have played SMB1 and what they would like to see in a hack. These are the options:

-Harder levels but with original design
-Replace 1UPs with Poison Mushrooms
-More aggressive Red Piranhas
-Aggressive Hammer Bros.
-Something I'm not thinking of?

Please share your thoughts. I would really appreciate feedback from creative, colorful people please. Black and white folks like me struggle with this. :P
^
Bananas received 10

Re: I Need some Ideas

Postby Blue Banana » December 13th, 2013, 1:19 pm

Well, you could make the levels harder, I'd re-design them to make them look like the graphics from Super Mario Bros 3, now that's something to think about. :bleak:
Previously "Kiddy"
Bananas received 1

Postby ShaneM » December 13th, 2013, 1:23 pm

I like it!

All but the SMB3 GFX rip, if I understand you right. Indeed, I will make the levels harder and add aggressive hammer bros. I have already added the aggressive red piranhas and poison mushrooms. What do you think of the super green springboards from SMB2J(I've already written code for it)? I guess I should first ask, have you played that SMB2J (aka The Lost Levels)?

EDIT: I gave you a banana for good feedback!
^
Bananas received 10

Postby Blue Banana » December 13th, 2013, 1:30 pm

Yes I have, and the graphics from SMB2J are weird, because instead of piranha plants they have heads, and adding a green spring board would make an excellent part of levels, you could add snow to the levels and make them slippery, now THAT would be challenging.
Previously "Kiddy"
Bananas received 1

Postby ShaneM » December 13th, 2013, 1:53 pm