Mario Kart Wii review

Where dead topics hang out.

Mario Kart Wii review

Postby selinaalkin » February 1st, 2011, 4:30 pm

Ok, this is my first attempt at a review (and my first day on the dkc-atlas forum) so polite constructive criticism will be welcomed Smile

CHARACTERS
(Please note, there are spoilers but don’t worry, there’s nothing to spoil). None of the characters have an item which is exclusive to them which is.... well, disappointing is an understatement. As for the choice of characters, it's full of REDICULOUS clones. It has to be said, Nintendo is hopeless at thinking up of original characters. Here's some of the light-weight characters: Baby Luigi, Baby Mario, Baby Daisy, Baby Peach. Seriously, enough with the babies! Nintendo also seems to lack an understanding of weight, as Boo the ghost and Rosalina (from Mario Galaxy. Yes, they put her in as well) are classed as heavy weight characters.

VEHICLES
Onto the vehicles. I'd say that there is a good, varied choice of karts and bikes to drive. Speaking of which, the addition of bikes to Mario Kart.....I like it. Some would complain that it isn’t Mario KART anymore, but hey, they screwed up on bigger things in this game. Bikes are good for straight courses because of their ability to go up on one wheel to increase their speed (which can't be done round corners), while karts are better for courses with lots of bends because they get better boosts when drifting. A new feature to the Mario Kart series is the ability to perform tricks while going up a ramp. This does sound pointless but when you land you'll get a boost.

COURSES